Loving to Love

My 12 grandchildren are all different from each other in many ways. Some are very vocal and noticeable, others are OK sitting in the corner with the book. Some have busy social lives, others enjoy sitting in the room alone all day. Some of them are physically affectionate, and some would rather not be touched.

When they were younger, some of them would sit with me in my chair. Since physical touch is my primary love language I had no problem with that. Even now, I wish I had a chair big enough for the whole dozen to sit with me.

I love them all equally, but I love them in different ways. However, there are a couple of things that I do with them all.

First, several years ago I started going around the table at lunchtime and kissing them all on top of the head. Some of them like that, some of them try to avoid it. I did it anyway.

Then, when they leave my house, I try to make sure I hug them all and that each of them hear me say, “I love you.”

I know some of them think it’s silly, but I have a reason for doing it anyway. I’m not planning on leaving any time soon, but there will come a day when a memory is all they have left. I also know that sometimes this world Is cruel and unloving. I want my grandchildren to receive so much love now that they have a lot to give away on the dark days. I also don’t want them to ever live a day of their lives wondering if someone loves them. When they think of me after I’m gone, what I want to be foremost in their memory is how much they were loved by me. I want them to still hear me say “I love you.“ Even when it’s just the memory I want them to remember how it felt to be hugged by their papa.

I don’t think any of them will ever think back and say “I wish he hadn’t loved me so much.”

Leave a comment